top of page

Discover Experience

"Ing Ngarso Sung Tulodo, Ing Madya Mangun Karso, Tut Wuri Handayani"

(In front of giving examples, In the middle of encouraging, In the behind giving power)

-Ki Hajar Dewantara-

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • windayantiwinda194

TEACHING PRACTICE

I was given the opportunity to teach 4 times in different grades (including grade 2,3 and 5) and different subject. I taught Math on class 2A2, Natural and Social on class 3A2, Tieng Viet (in english) on class 3A2, and Science on class 5A2. It is not too difficult for me to teach those 4 subjects because they are still in elementary school level but what makes it difficult is the students' English skills and the guidebook that I use is in Vietnamese.



PROCEDURES OF TEACHING

As a prospective teacher I have prepared a plan for my teaching practice with the aim to follows the procedures in the teaching plan. The teaching and learning process begins with an opening activity. In this section the teacher greets students and asks “hor are you today ?” and after the students answer then say “ hey class, are you ready for study?”. The teacher also checks the attendance of students, does apperception or reminds students about topics that have been studied previously, and gives a little evaluation (quiz) of the topics that have been studied previously. The next section is the main activity, in this activity the teacher starts by giving questions related to the topic to be discuss in order to give an overview to students about what will be learn. The teacher will explain the topic of learning and sometimes answer questions of the students. Then the teacher will give an assignment to students and ask one of the students to present it to the class. After that the teacher will give an award in the form of a small gift to increase the enthusiasm of students to learn and makes students enjoy the class. The learning process will end in accordance with the allocation of given time. At the end of learning the teacher will ask a student to present a conclusion from what has been learned today. the teacher will give a final greeting to students by saying "good bye, see you!"


TIME MANAGEMENT AND ORGANIZING ACTIVITIES

Time management is an important thing that must be considered by a teacher. in the opportunity that was given, I had 40 minutes to deliver one learning topic. I allocated 5-10 minutes for the opening activity in it including opening greetings, apperception activities, and evaluation (quiz). The next section is Main activities which allocated time for 20-25 minutes including explaining the material with the magic cup media, and giving assignments to students. so as not to take a lot of time students who are asked to come forward to the class to present the answer is less than or 5 people. the last section was the closing activity. I allocate 5 minutes for closing activities which are sufficient to conclude learning materials and give closing greetings to students.


PROBLEM SOLVING

Although I have planned the learning process that I will do, the reality is sometimes not in line with expectations. In the first class, namely mathematics subject, I teach in grade 2 that incidentally at this level the students have not yet learned English subject. I teach using teaching aids, namely The Magic Cups that I explain in English. Only one-third of all students understood what I explained. To overcome this, I explain by speaking less but using sign language more through The Magic Cups. I also asked for help from one of the volunteers who accompanied me while I was teaching to translate if there were students who asked to use Vietnamese.


Teaching Aids : The Magic Cup

To minimize problems like this happen again, for my next classes I use PowerPoint presentation materials which include English text as well as Vietnamese text. so students who have low English skills can still understand the material being taught.

I always do ice breaking in my learning, like in math, natural and social, and Tieng Viet I give award for those who can answer questions well and in science class I invite students to do brain gymnastics. These will bring back student focus during learning.


CLASSROOM MANAGEMENT


Teaching at the elementary school level is not easy. Getting students who are very active in moving is a challenge for a teacher. Before starting the learning process I provide rules for students. when I say "time to study" then students must calm down and listen to my instructions. I ask students to use English if asking questions so I can understand. If they cannot submit it in English they can ask another friend to help raise the question. Students in this school are disciplined students. So it's not too difficult for me to manage them.


My Teaching Experiences :






60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SEA Teacher Gallery

Home: Gallery

Failure only happens when we give up.
-B.J. Habibie

Kendari, Indonesia

  • instagram
Home: Contact
Home: Subscribe
bottom of page